just now


    69 eSwatini MPs sworn in

    APA-Mbabane (eSwatini)

    The 69 new Members of Parliament (MPs) of the House of Assembly in eSwatini have been sworn in on Thursday.

    The MPs held their first sitting less than a month after 59 of them were elected and ten appointed by King Mswati III.

    Attorney General Sifiso Khumalo led them in the swearing ceremony.

    On the eve of the swearing in the legislators were educated on the election of Speaker and how to elect members of the Senate at Ezulwini Convention Centre where aspiring senators were also present to campaign.

    Leading the training session was Clerk of Parliament, Ndvuna Dlamini who said the first sitting of the 11th Parliament would be announced soon.

    During Thursday’s session the legislators submitted names of two candidates for the position of Speaker, and they are former speaker Themba Msibi and former MP Petros Mavimbela.

    The legislators are also expected to elect ten senators, while 20 will be appointed by King Mswati III.

    After the election of Senators the King then appoints a prime minister to enable the setting up of a full cabinet, usually before the end of November.


    React to this article