15-Sep-2014 to 18:08

Ivorian president reiterates will to seek second term

APA-Prikro (Cote d’Ivoire) – — The Ivoirian head of state, Alassane Ouattara on Sunday restated his willingness to solicit a second term during the presidential polls slated for October 2015 in a bid to complete the large-scale works he launched for the country to become emergent by 2020.

Read more

15-Sep-2014 to 15:52

Mozambique: Three nabbed for carrying firearms in rally

APA-Maputo (Mozambique) — Mozambican police has arrested three people after they were found carrying illegal firearms during a political rally as part of the current election campaign, local media said Monday.

Read more

15-Sep-2014 to 15:10

Nigerian leader pledges free, fair polls in 2015

APA – Lagos (Nigeria) — Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan has pledged that his government is committed to free and fair elections in 2015.

Read more

13-Sep-2014 to 20:48

Gahana: Failed WTO aspirant launches campaign to lead opposition party

APA- Accra (Ghana) — A failed Ghanaian aspirant for the World Trade Organization (WTO) Director General position, Mr John Alan Kwadwo Kyeremanten on Saturday launched his campaign in a bid to lead the largest opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP).

Read more

12-Sep-2014 to 14:14

Malema blasts ‘autocratic Botswana’ over visa refusal

APA-Gaborone (Botswana) — The leader of South Africa’s Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) party, Julius Malema on Friday labeled the regime of Botswana President Ian Khama as an autocratic military government.

Read more

12-Sep-2014 to 11:55

Gambian leader appoints new tourism minister

APA-Banjul (Gambia) — Gambian President Yahya Jammeh has effected a minor cabinet reshuffle with the appointment of Benjamin Roberts as Minister of Tourism and Culture, replacing Fatou Mass Jobe, who was first appointed into the cabinet in February 2010.

Read more

10-Sep-2014 to 11:04

Tanzania: No new constitution before polls - report

APA - Arusha (Tanzania) — Tanzanian president, Jakaya Kikwete will not honor his promise to provide his country with a new constitution before the presidential and parliamentary elections scheduled for next year, APA learns on Wednesday.

Read more